Bethune Expectations & Attendance for Distance Learning:
To be marked present each day students must:
Attend the live meetings that are scheduled at 9:00 am and 12:30 pm every day
Complete & submit all required daily Seesaw Assignments
Meet daily minutes of Lexia, Dreambox and ST Math
Issues due to the internet or a device must be reported the same day to be excused for tech issues. We will only be excusing 2 days for tech issues. It will be your responsibility to contact the school to get support.
Reminder of the District Attendance Policy
The district expects all students to have 95% attendance
Excused Absences: illness, transportation, family emergencies, funerals, medical appointments, etc.
At 3 unexcused absences, a letter from the school is sent. After 6 unexcused absences, a PGM referral is made to Hennepin County Attorney’s Office. At 15 unexcused absences an ‘educational neglect report’ is sent to Hennepin County.
During Distance Learning the top priority is that students are engaged in learning every day. As such, the definition of an absence is when a student, or parent/guardian for elementary students, does not have contact with the teacher on an instructional day. If your child will be absent, please notify the school by calling the attendance line at 612-668-2575.
health and safety of our students and staff is a priority. Please review attendance
guidelines from the Minnesota Department of Health relating
to COVID-19. You may also review additional resources and a helpful decision
Check and Connect
Check and Connect is a program that seeks to build relationships with each individual student while better connecting them to their own success at school. Click here to learn more...
General Attendance Information
Minnesota law states that all students are required to attend school from age 7, or when they enroll in kindergarten (whichever comes first) until they are 18 years old. A student's failure to attend school may lead to legal action for the parents/guardians and the student.
Call the Attendance Line at listed at the right if your child is going to be absent. Feel free to leave a message. If we don't receive a call, we will call the home number. Please send a note when your child returns to school after an absence. Give the following information in the phone call/note: Child's name, homeroom number or teacher's name, and reason for absence, parent name/signature, and telephone number.
What are excused absences?
Students are allowed up to 8 total absences a year, or 3 days in a row, due to an illness. A doctor's note must be provided if your child is gone from school more than 8 total days over the school year, or 3 days in a row. Because your child's health is important to us, school staff can help your child if you do not have health insurance or cannot afford to see a doctor -please contact your school if you need help.
Whenever possible, please schedule doctor and dentist appointments before or after school. For those that must be scheduled during school, the appointment will be excused only upon receiving a written note from the doctor or dentist.
School Bus Problems
If your child miss school because the bus was late or did not show up at the bus stop, report this to the school that morning.
Religious Holidays/Cultural Observances
If your child will be gone due to a religious holiday or cultural observance, please notify the school in advance.
Students may be gone up to 4 days a year because of a funeral. If your child will be gone more than 4 days, we ask that you get written approval for additional excused time from a teacher, social worker or principal.
Students may be gone up to 3 days a year because of a family emergency. If your child will be gone more than 3 days, please obtain written approval from a social worker or principal.
A student may be gone up to 5 days from school for a pre-approved family activity. To get pre-approval from the school, please do the following:
- At least 10 days before leaving, request permission from the school for your child to be gone for a family activity.
- Before leaving, get your child's homework and agree that your child will finish the homework.
- Make sure that your student will not be gone for important tests like the MCA, NALT or MBST.
- Agree in writing that your child will miss no more than 5 days of school.
Family Activities, Extended
If your family activity will last more than 5 days, we ask that you obtain permission from the principal in writing before you leave. If the principal gives permission to be gone longer than 5 days, your child will be expected to turn in a school report and/or a presentation to their teacher(s).
Unexcused absences and those absences not acknowledged by note or telephone call are subject to truancy/attendance procedures. All enrolled children are subject to Minnesota's compulsory attendance laws. Schools are required to notify parents and Hennepin County Juvenile Court when a child is deemed truant.
Please call the number listed to the right to report absences.